News from the European Parliament & the Forum on Recfishing

16 Sep 2019
Author: Julie Changivy & Sofia Minero

Category: Lobby,News,EFTTA

Julie Changivy and Sofia Minero from Aliénor EU, the European policies' consulting agency representing EFTTA in the European Parliament present here the outcome of their recent lobbying activities, including plans for relaunching the RecFishing Forum.

- Members of the European Parliament elected last May have officially taken office on the 2nd of July and are already at work. So is the European Fishing Tackle Trade Association (EFTTA), together with the European Anglers Alliance (EAA), ready for fruitful cooperation with new members sitting in the relevant committees.

- Early in July, Committees held their constitutive meetings. In the Fisheries Committee, MEP Chris Davis, a British liberal democrat, was elected Chair of the Committee. MEPs Peter van Dalen, Søren Gade, Giuseppe Ferrandino and Claudia Monteiro de Aguiar were elected vice-Chairs.

- French MEP Pascal Canfin is the new Chair of the Environment Committee and MEPs Bas Eickhout, Seb Dance, Cristian Silviu Bușoi and Anja Hazekamp have been elected vice-Chairs.

- EAA and EFTTA are already at work to re-establish the Forum on Recreational Fisheries and Aquatic Environment, a platform that has enabled increased contacts between the recreational fisheries sector and EU policy makers during the 2014-2019 term of the European Parliament. AliénorEU has met with new MEPs in Strasbourg in July and September, in order to re-build a network of contacts for EFTTA and the Forum. 

- The first important legislative item on the agenda of the European Parliament (Fisheries Committee - PECH) is the Fisheries Control Regulation. The Control Regulation defines the control system to ensure that the rules of the Common Fisheries Policy are followed in practice. This Regulation is being revised, and the PECH Committee is starting over its work on the European Commission’s proposal. The Rapporteur is a Spanish Member of the European Parliament, from the Socialists and Democrats’ Group, Ms Clara Aguilera Garcia.


newslines from eftta.signup to receive news & event updates straight to your inbox